This Is How It Starts: Kate Breslin’s For Such A Time

My dear friend and author, Alexa Day posted an insightful blog about the controversy over the RWA Rita’s Finalist, FOR SUCH A TIME. The RWA has defended the situation citing a determination to insure no censorship in the RITA’S, and I applaud their position. What I don’t applaud is the fact that the JUDGES did not weed it out themselves. What does this say about the Judges, published romance authors? I shudder to think. What do YOU think?

Lady Smut

Are we really looking at the right thing? Are we really seeing the problem?

By Alexa Day

I am, speaking very generally, encouraged by what Romance Writers of America is trying to do with regard to diversity within our genre.

I’ve checked out the Storify from one of the diversity-related panels at this year’s National Conference (and you should, too). I downloaded the handout from the excellent authors at the panel on writing multicultural romances. And I would be doing you a disservice not to mention that Beverly Jenkins was on NPR last week. Her reference to the Borg from Star Trek echoes a common complaint I have about black historical romance, both in print and in other popular entertainment. That’s not an RWA thing, but I want to mention it anyway.

With all this forward motion, then, it is discouraging to hear about For Such a Time by Kate Breslin.
In case you haven’t heard about this…

View original post 699 more words

About Denise Golinowski

I write "Fantasy with a Kiss of Romance" and love reading same. I hope that together we can share our experiences - likes and loves - as we read and I write, together.

Posted on August 10, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

