Editing = Hard Copy of Galley + Coffee / Or Not

Writers are always asking themselves and each other, repeatedly, “when do you know you’re done?” with the draft, the edits, the book! It’s a hard question to answer. Even those far greater than I seem to have struggled with this question – why even Leonardo da Vinci said, “Art is never finished, only abandoned.”

I usually make the call when the thought of reading through my current WIP makes me green about the gills. If I’m that tired of it, it’s time to set it free! Hmm, something about that doesn’t quite sound right, but it’s in the ballpark.

Anyway, I was reviewing my galley for ACES DOWN and while I had a definite deadline to turn it around, I was pushing it to get another run through, just in case. So, when I tripped UP the stairs at my office while carrying my galley and a full cup of morning nirvana, i.e. coffee, this is what happened.

20150225_212926

20150225_212921

20150225_212912

Yep, just call me Grace! After the massive clean up, fortunately we did not have to call in professional assistance, I was draping the coffee-soaked pages all over an empty office and I realized it was a sign. Time to set it free.

Writers, crafters, artists, poets, et al – when do you know that it’s time to let go?

About Denise Golinowski

I write "Fantasy with a Kiss of Romance" and love reading same. I hope that together we can share our experiences - likes and loves - as we read and I write, together.

Posted on March 9, 2015, in Aces Down, editing, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Leah St. James

    Oh no! That is SO something I would do…except my choice of nirvana would be English breakfast tea. Can’t wait to read “Aces Down”!

Leave a Reply

