Something Old, Something New

The only constant in life is change.

change

Don’t you love a play on words?

You know, blogging is a lot like standing in a Super Bowl stadium and trying to get the TV cameras to zoom in on your hand-made sign. A lot of effort into goes into that sign, but the chances of getting that cameraman to swing the lens your way are pretty slim. But you know, you pays your money and you takes your chance.

So I’m gonna be trying out some stuff here on Golinowski’s Gambol and we’ll see what sticks.

Happy Dancing & Tooting My Horn

Happy Dancing

Something Old/Aces Down – just sent my first round edits on Aces Down to my editor at The Wild Rose Press. Yep, I SOLD Aces Down to The Wild Rose Press! Yipee! My third release through The Wild Rose Press. And I get to work with Callie Lynn Wolfe again!

Something New/Editing trick – Every time you edit your writing, you (should) learn a new trick or hone an old one to make the process easier. This time, I did a search on “ly” in an adverb search and destroy mission. In almost every instance, there was a stronger way to phrase it. So I did.

“She moved away slowly” became “She eased away” or

“He turned quickly” became “He spun”

I was happy to discover that I had fewer adverbs than I expected – thanks to the efforts of my wonderful critique groups. And, as some folks would be quick to point out, in some instances I kept the adverb because it worked for me. We’ll see what my editor thinks.

About Denise Golinowski

I write "Fantasy with a Kiss of Romance" and love reading same. I hope that together we can share our experiences - likes and loves - as we read and I write, together.

Posted on October 9, 2014, in Aces Down and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Congrats on passing that hurdle…or leaping…or something stronger than “passing.” 🙂 And that’s a great editing tip. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

