Tip o’ the Hat – Red Cap, Blue Cap

Have you ever been out in your yard, puttering around with this or that and felt that strange itch between your shoulder blades–someone’s watching you. I blame those garden gnomes, especially the Red Caps. And if you’re doing a tour of ruins along the Scottish border when you get that feeling, you’re not crazy. Just get outta there – read my Myth Perceptions post from Tea N Strumpets to find out why.

Tea N Strumpets

Myth Perceptions Myth Perceptions

by Denise Golinowski

Hi! Welcome to Myth Perceptions where I explore and then share aspects of myth and legend that I have encountered in my reading and writing. Currently, I’m exploring the stories, myths and legends pertaining to fairies.

This month, I’m talking about two different types of gnomes or dwarves – Red Caps and Blue Caps. Let’s start with the one I’d heard of first – Red Caps.

Red Cap image courtesy of Monstropedia.org

Red Caps are spoken of in tales from the Borders – Yorkshire & Northeast (the border between England and Scotland). I first read about them in the Dresden Files, I think. They are also mentioned in Harry Potter. In my opinion, Red Caps are definitely members of the Unseelie Court. They are dwarves usually found in abandoned or ruined castles along the border. They get their name from the red caps they wear…

View original post 487 more words

About Denise Golinowski

I write "Fantasy with a Kiss of Romance" and love reading same. I hope that together we can share our experiences - likes and loves - as we read and I write, together.

Posted on September 24, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

