RavenCon Pt. 1 and Your Monday Fortune Cookie

When all else seems to fail, smile for today and just love someone.

SNARKY RESPONSE: Yeah, until someone slaps a Restraining Order on you.

That and reality is so depressingly…REAL. Especially when you’ve just been socializing with Klingons, Victorian Adventuresses, and Stormtroopers. I mean, how can you compare the trek to the office copier to rounding a hall corner and colliding with an Arrest Party for the Klingon charity jail, shackled prisoner cowering in their midst? Or noshing in the food court with watching Klingons chowing down during a break in guard duty. Or eavesdropping on ladies comparing coupons to listening in on ladies in tip-tilted hats, corsets, and skirts of varying lengths comparing notes over an array of dazzling jewelry?

The usual crowd at the water cooler feels a little drab by comparison (no insult intended, guys, but hey, what can I say?)

What in the F)^% am I talking about? RAVENCON, of course! This past weekend I attended Richmond’s sci/fi convention extraordinaire. Held at the DoubleTree Inn off Midlothian Tnpk, it was three days of madcaps, mayhem, and merriment.

Sadly, I’m not a cosplayer or costumer, but I hope to come up with something for the next convention. I’ll be posting another bit about my side of the convention – the writers’ track, bur for this week, let me share a couple of cool costumes. There were SO MANY I didn’t capture, but I was under the weather, so not capable of multi-tasking.

However, enjoy a few that I did have enough coherent brain cells to capture!

Image

Happy Happy!

Image

Big Hammer. Any Questions?

Image

Klingons Testing Human Food

Image

Visiting Hour at Klingon Jail

About Denise Golinowski

I write "Fantasy with a Kiss of Romance" and love reading same. I hope that together we can share our experiences - likes and loves - as we read and I write, together.

Posted on April 28, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Leah St. James

    How fun! So glad you had a good time. 🙂 I’ll have to get there one of these years!

Leave a Reply

