RavenCon, Here I come! and Monday Fortune Cookie

TIME MAY FLY BY, BUT MEMORIES DON’T.

savignyplatz-325059_640

Savignyplatz, Berlin – Pixabay

SNARKY RESPONSE #1:   I’ve got a few I’d like to see take off!

SNARKY RESPONSE #2:  They both do at my age!

 

April didn’t used to be a busy month for me. January’s the birthday biggie in our family – yep, I’m a fish (Pisces) surrounded by Capricorns. What’s my lesson there you think?

However, now, April’s climbing the charts. Got a new birthday to celebrate in there – Grand-daughter – awesomely cute! And one of my first and favorite local conventions – RavenCon – this year, April 25-27.

This year’s Raven

If you write science fiction, fantasy, horror, or mystery you need to shuffle your calendar for this weekend!

Author Guest of Honor with be Elizabeth Bear and Artist Guest of Honor will be Ed Beard Jr. My main delight with this Con is the heavy line-up of writing-related programs. From genre discussions to fandom to actually hands-on, it’s always a shot in the arm for me as a writer. I am particularly enamored with Allen Wold’s writing workshops – hands-on writing sessions with immediate and insightful feed-back. Ain’t nothin‘ better!

Visually, it’s a real treat! There are so many talented costumers in attendance, strutting their stuff! Anime, Klingons, Stormtroopers, the possibilities are endless. You haven’t lived until you’ve rounded a corner and nearly collided with a six foot tall Klingon in full gear! Or a platoon of Stormtroopers!

Board Gamers can get their game on with gaming 24/7 in the Game Room. Every time I pass the doorway, I see heads bent over boards and pieces. I’ve even been privy, albeit unintentionally, to intense strategizing in the hallway outside at some cons. You might encounter one yourself.

And for the shopper, there’s the Vendor Area. Crafty entrepreneurs offer everything from vintage paperbacks to light sabers, pithy saying emblazoned t-shirts to leather corsets, pet dragons to airy sprites and enough jewelry options to fill a Queen’s coffers.

I’ve yet to brave the costuming rage, but I’ll be there snapping pics, making notes, and hopefully writing a little opening that might lead to something big! For me. Hope to see you in  a program or in the halls! If you see me first, say HI!

 

 

About Denise Golinowski

I write "Fantasy with a Kiss of Romance" and love reading same. I hope that together we can share our experiences - likes and loves - as we read and I write, together.

Posted on April 21, 2014, in RavenCon, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

